Nominations open for Energy Storage North America’s Innovation Awards

Energy Storage North America (ESNA) has issued a call for nominations for the 2017 ESNA Innovation Awards. The Innovation Awards highlight excellence and impact in the energy storage sector, and are presented at ESNA’s annual storage event — the largest conference and expo for grid-connected energy storage in North America.

The ESNA Innovation and Champion Awards are given annually to recognize individuals and organizations who are helping advance the energy storage ecosystem.

This year, the event will take place August 8 to 10, in San Diego. ESNA will honor projects that are accelerating the efficient, customer-centric, clean and resilient “Energy Transition.”

Key evaluation criteria include: transforming the storage ecosystem, opening new markets, tapping into multiple value streams, overcoming operational challenges, and increasing grid reliability and resiliency.

To be eligible for an award, a project must be a stationary or mobile grid energy storage system in North America that is installed and fully operational on or before June 1, 2017.

Nominations will be accepted in three categories:

  • Centralized
  • Distributed: commercial, industrial or residential
  • Mobility: transportation, electric vehicles, and enabling infrastructure

Winners will be recognized during an Awards Ceremony that will take place at the San Diego Convention Center on August 9, 2017.

Nominations are also open for the 2017 ESNA Champion Awards in two categories: Policymaker and Utility. ESNA Champion Awards honor the work of individuals within these key industry areas who have made exceptional contributions to the field of energy storage.

“The energy transition is happening globally as markets adapt, technologies emerge and consumers engage – and energy storage is playing an essential role,” said Janice Lin, Energy Storage North America Conference Chair. “This year’s ESNA awards will recognize the storage champions and projects that are accelerating this inevitable shift to greater efficiency, power system resiliency, and market-based success.”

The deadline to submit nominations for ESNA Awards is June 2, and finalists in each category will be notified later in June when voting opens.

Windpower Engineering & Development


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s